top of page

About Us

Who We Are

The United Nations Association in Canada Toronto Region Branch (UNACTO) is a volunteer-based division of the United Nations Association in Canada (UNA-Canada) which is a historic, national charitable organization, established in 1946.


UNA-Canada is a founding member of the World Federation of United Nations Association (WFUNA) and today holds its elected Vice-Chair representing global civil society.

Our Mission

UNACTO is dedicated to elevating the principles of the UN Charter and to accomplishing the 17 Sustainable Development Goals through innovative programming. Our work is guided by three core principles: Integrity, Inclusiveness and Compassion.

We believe in building a better tomorrow by engaging the youth of the Greater Toronto Area and in growing global citizens through knowledge of the UN and its initiatives.


Staci Benny

Board Chair

Irene Kashelsky

Board of Directors


Sharmin Hassaniani

Maria Marchyshyn

Melissa Perrier

Jean Pilaprat 

Amna Raza

Operational Team

Director of Governance

Maria Salhab 

Governance Coordinators

Chad Milbrandt

Amir Soltaninia


Director of Programs

Maduba Ahmad

Project Coordinator

Idil Omar

Director of Communications

Sharmin Hassaniani

Impact Analyst 

Tehseen Rana


Ali Shahrukh Pracha

Contributing Writers

Liz Harris

Anja Kundacina

Dana Shamlawi

Angel Xing

Shatabdy Zahid

Social Media Coordinator

Nina Lyn Mauro

Graphic Designers

Tariduni Hathurusinghe

Kelly To

Laila Zabaneh


Winston Tang

bottom of page